TF Picks: 5 Fresh Releases You Can’t Miss (#2)

With so much new music coming up these days, we thought we’d help you pick up 5 fresh releases from the last week that you shouldn’t miss. We have compiled a list of music from various styles, genre no bar. Keep watching this space for your weekly dose of fresh music!

Papa Roach (ft. Jason Aalon of FEVER 333 and Sueco) – Swerve (Single)

Nu-metal flag-bearers Papa Roach have teamed up with Jason Aalon Butler (vocalist of the intensely energetic metal band FEVER 333) and rapper Sueco to release a new single called ‘Swerve’. The catchy guitar riff makes the base of this laid back song which starts off with intense verse from Jason Aalon Butler followed by Roach frontman Jacoby Shaddix, with some saxophone licks in the background being the real surprise element to the traditional Papa Roach song-writing style. Shaddix feels that the band has dug deep to understand what their strengths are musically, and have been working towards a unique new sound. The inclusion of rapper Sueco and the relaxed vibe in his delivery just adds a completely different dynamic to this new sound, which will presumably be the way the upcoming Papa Roach album (predicted to release in 2022) is going to be based around.


The Weeknd – Take My Breath (Single)

The Weeknd is at the epitome of pop music success, and as his first musical work post his magnanimous album ‘After Hours’, the single ‘Take My Breath’ is what you could call a signature sound he has created, blending his soulful vocals and that dance-y disco-driven retro pulse with heavy synth work in the production, teaming up once more with renowned producer Max Martin. They have worked together on several songs spread across The Weeknd’s hit albums ‘Beauty Behind The Madness’ (2015), ‘Starboy’ (2016) and the critically acclaimed ‘After Hours’ (2020). The Weeknd has certainly contributed to the re-popularization of the nostalgic 80’s synth driven sound with just the right amount of disco pulse to get your feet tapping and probably even moving vigorously on a dancefloor!


Bad Colours (ft. Dave Giles II) – Back Outside (Single)


Making an appropriate background score for a sunset with a gin & tonic in hand, ‘Back Outside’ by Brooklyn-based producer Bad Colours, featuring Dave Giles II, is a celebration of getting back out into the world, finally being able to get back into party mode and for him especially, a return of real life DJ culture to the world. Bastard Jazz artist Bad Colours, whose actual name is Ibe Soliman, is a London-born, Maryland-raised, Brooklyn-based DJ and producer. He’s well known within the New York music circuit and has performed alongside the likes of Snoop Dogg, Wiz Khalifa, Pusha T and Young Thug, to name a few, and has shared decks with the likes of James Murphy, Mark Ronson and Q-Tip. He has also worked in capacity of producer with Kendrick Lamar, Faith Evans, Rick Ross, among others.


Frequency Time Space (Prod. By Robu ft. Quest, Tienas, Nuke, Specter) – Jet Lag (Single)

A group of extremely talented and underrated rappers and (some) producers between themselves, whose pen game is absolute fire, Frequency Time Space (FTS) release ‘Jet Lag’ with Azadi Records. This song in particular features 4 out of 6 members of FTS, namely Quest, Tienas (who is a personality in his own right), Nuke and Specter, and has a boom-bap beat produced by Robu, going outside their in-house ring of producers – Zero Chill, Tienas and RaySon4 7, who primarily produce songs for the 6-piece collective. The music video sees the boys cycling around Mumbai street, and in other parts just being an ensemble that hypes around each other’s verses. It captures each rapper’s unique expressionism, lyrically and visually. Keep your eyes and ears open for these guys, they have a lot of quality music in store!


Anuj Gurwara (ft. The Songsmiths and Shwetang Shankar) – Tujh Jaisa Na Koi (Single)

Indian Fimfare Award-winning playback singer, actor, voice artist and TV show host, Anuj Gurwara in collaboration with Rishabh Ravi, music producer Shwetang Shankar and The Songsmiths, released a smooth easy going single ‘Tujh Jaisa Na Koi’ (which translates to ‘There’s no one like you’). The singer describes the sound as being in a pop-jazz-bluesy space. The catchy chorus does linger in your mind for a while, as proclaimed by Gurwara. It’s a good mix of straight up singable pop-rock combining with some light orchestration adding a classic or vintage touch with Anuj’s warm vocal timbre. The song is composed by Rishabh Ravi and the production arrangement done by Shwetang Shankar. The musicians involved in the music making process were Avinash Ekka on guitars, Saikat Basu on bass guitar, Anubha Bajpai on backing vocals, Anshul Dawar on keyboards and additional instrumentation.


We’ll be back next week with more interesting recommendations for you to listen and / or groove to!


Spread the word