TF Picks: Fresh Music Releases You Can’t Miss (#16)

With so much new music coming out every day, we thought we’d help you pick up a few fresh music releases from the last week that you shouldn’t miss. We have compiled a list of music from various styles, genre no bar. Keep watching this space for your weekly dose of fresh music!

Post Malone, The Weeknd – One Right Now [Single]

Two of some of the most magnanimous names in the pop music industry at the moment, Post Malone and The Weeknd dropped the single ‘One Right Now’, which is a part of Post Malone’s upcoming album, of which he hasn’t given out any details yet. If you saw the Nirvana tribute show on YouTube that he did with Travis Barker in the lockdown period, he had announced that he is working on a new album. The sound of this song is typical to what you are used to hearing with The Weeknd – a retro 80’s synth heavy production with both the singers in their lyrics speaking about a past relationship gone bad and moving on to new avenues, not looking back.

Takar Nabam – Red and Yellow [EP]

Singer, songwriter and virtuoso guitar player Takar Nabam from Arunachal Pradesh, India, has released a 5-song EP ‘Red and Yellow’, which is a great easy-listening journey, at points personal, sentimental and reflective. One can describe his sound as laid-back indie-pop with brushstrokes of technicality, iced by his soothing voice and simplistic storytelling style. The EP starts with ‘Quiet a Story’, in which he explains how alienated he felt in his own home environment after being away in the city for years. Following other beautiful songs ‘Ashes’ and ‘A Crime’ comes the song ‘Goodnight (In Memory of Laika)’, which is a tribute to the first dog to be trained and sent into space, paving the way for human space exploration, but gave her life as she burned in the cockpit of the space vehicle just a few hours post-launch. The beautifully animated music video is a real tear-jerker if you are a dog-lover, and ends with a request for forgiveness. What a beautiful thought! The EP ends with ‘Nyokum Yullo Buya’, which is an experimental folk-ish family led song, and delivers a great end with the most upbeat vibe on the EP. All in all, a great listen with your evening coffee, or a glass of twilight wine, we recommend that you listen to the songs in their arranged order.

Shia ft. Narha – Metamorphosis (Prod. By Zero Chill) [Single]

You can expect some phat bass when you see the name Zero Chill in the credits, and he never fails to disappoint! A first collaboration between two upcoming independent female artists Shia and Narha, the song ‘Metamorphosis’ sheds light on the apathetic pace and the privileges that dictate the running of the modern world. The ladies speak about the struggles they face as female artists, and in general as women in this world which is male-dominated and still living in the patriarchal haze of an era gone by. The song has been released by Purple Wave, an initiative by rapper and producer Prabh Deep, who is discovering and exposing young new artists. More to look forward to…

Kayoben – Asrar [EP]

A project, two years in the making, combining the forces of Riatsu a.k.a. Shadaab Kadri, a music producer who makes ambient music and electronica; one of India’s few harp players – Nush Lewis, also a singer, songwriter and music educator; Hersh Desai – sound engineer and Saloni Sinha – visual artist and music producer herself; they come together as Kayoben, releasing their debut 3-song EP ‘Asrar’, the Arabic word for ‘secrets’. It starts off with ‘Hold On’, coming in with textured ambience, transcending into a journey of swaying vocals and an uplifting yet mellow harp melody. The next song ‘My Mind’ is full of effect-driven synths and melodious harp licks, with a dynamically variating pulse that’s stuck somewhere between ambient and upbeat. The closing track ‘Between Lines’ is the melodically the darkest sounding one with oscillating synths and arpeggios running a silent chaos of their own, under Nush’s warm voice, picking up pace towards the end. A transporting listen, especially if you indulge (*wink wink*). Check this one out in the prescribed order.

Slipknot – The Chapeltown Rag [Single]

Graphically and lyrically intense as they’ve always been, the early-2000’s metal veterans from Des Moines, Iowa, Slipknot released a new single ‘The Chapeltown Rag’, which is taken from recording sessions for a forthcoming album that the band has not yet announced. The band teased fans who visited their website with 9 pieces of the artwork, which make the whole when collected via an NFT integration, which entitles the fans who collected all 9 pieces to special updates and / or offers related to the upcoming album and it’s launch. Specifics aren’t shared yet. ‘The Chapeltown Rag’ is produced by Joe Baressi who has previously worked with Tool, Judas Priest, Chevelle, Queens of the Stone Age, Soundgarden, Nine Inch Nails, and other big names. Looking forward to a landmark album!

Shlok Chiplunkar – Laxmi Bomb Ft. Mrunal Shankar [Single]

It’s not every day that you see contemporary music and ancient cultures coming together but Shlok along with Mrunal Shankar have given that thought a complete flip. Bringing Marathi Lavani together with hard-hitting groovy drums and percussions, Shlok Chiplunkar has lit the ‘Laxmi Bomb’ with some serious bass pulse that is intensified by Mrunal Shankar’s rapturous vocals.

Trosk & Agnes Cecilia – Take Me Home [Single]

If you haven’t come across Trosk before, take notice now because the Mumbai-based producer is making some serious waves in the gargantuan world of Tropical House music. Racking over 700k streams on his previous release with Chemical Neon and Lima, Trosk has now returned with a single with Swedish singer Agnes Cecilia for ‘Take Me Home’ which carries the producer’s trademark glistening landscapes through playful melodies, enchanting production, and powerful vocals to create the perfect emotion for you to relate to. Out on 12 November.

Ben Hauke – Everywhere I Go [Single]

We are slightly late in picking this one up but it’s too good to not cover because every time Ben Hauke cooks up something, it’s influential. With his production style shifting between House, Broken Beat and Instrumental Hip-Hop, his sound is has seen him likened to icons like Theo Parrish and Madlib. The latest storm Ben Hauke has cooked up with ‘Everywhere I Go’ is on his WOOP Records imprint and it is a tune that brings his love for Jazz, Breaks, Garage and Jungle together.

Kove – Sweet Music [Single]

After a long, long hiatus, Kove’s return to Drum & Bass has been nothing short of sensational and since his return, the narrative of his deep and gritty productions has changed to delivering main-stage bangers. Safe to say that the move has resulted into a triumphant return. His latest release on Drum&BassArena is an ode 90s rave culture channelled with the euphoric vocals which he manages to master, every time. 10/10 banger.

Effin – N2K [Single]

One of the top breakout artists on 2019, Los Angeles-based producer Effin has quickly pushed his name into the powerhouses of Dubstep music. An expansive sound design with notes taken from the ghastly book of Dubstep, Effin’s innovative production skills have taken his music to labels like Deadbeats, Dim Mak Records, and Never Say Die Records. His second EP of the year and his first on Never Say Die in 2021, takes his explosive sound design led music to the next level on ‘N2K’ with a melodic intro, distorted rhythms and a supremely balanced drop.

We’ll be back next week with more interesting recommendations for you to listen to and/or groove to!

You may also read: TF Picks: Fresh Music Releases You Can’t Miss (#15)

Featured Image Collage – Image credits –

Post Malone Instagram | The Weeknd Instagram | Slipknot Instagram | Kayoben – Riatsu Instagram |

Spread the word