Bad Bunny Is Apple Music’s 2022 Artist of the Year, Snoop Dogg Biopic Is in the Works at Universal, and More

From Sam Smith unveiling the tracklist for their upcoming album ‘Gloria’ to Christina Aguilera announcing a documentary about her personal life and career, here’s last week in music –

Snoop Dogg’s Biopic Is in the Works

Allen Hughes (‘Menace Society II’‘Dead Presidents’) is set to direct a biopic about the life of Snoop Dogg. Universal Pictures is developing this film and Joe Robert Cole (‘Black Panther’) is penning the script. The biopic will be produced by rapper Snoop Dogg, director Allen Hughes, and Sara Ramaker. 

“Snoop Dogg’s life and legacy make him one of the most exciting and influential icons in popular culture,” said Donna Langley. The Universal Filmed Entertainment Group chairman added: “We met with Snoop shortly after he acquired Death Row Records and had the opportunity to hear his story in his own words. We are humbled to be able to create the lasting document of this singular artist.”

“Finally. ????? This will be fun. ?,” Snoop Dogg wrote on his Instagram page while announcing that a biopic on his life is in the works.

“I waited a long time to put this project together because I wanted to choose the right director, the perfect writer, and the greatest movie company I could partner with that could understand the legacy that I’m trying to portray on screen, and the memory I’m trying to leave behind,” said the Grammy-nominated rapper Snoop Dogg. “It was the perfect marriage. It was holy matrimony, not holy macaroni.” 

Bad Bunny is Apple Music’s 2022 Artist of the Year       

Bad Bunny has been named Apple Music’s 2022 Artist of the Year. This makes him the first Latin Apple Music Artist of the Year in history. ‘Un Verano Sin Ti’, the latest studio album by a Puerto Rican artist, has become Apple Music’s most streamed album of the year. The Grammy-winning rapper and singer also became the only artist in history with two separate $100 million-grossing tours in less than a year. His El ltimo Tour del Mundo was the first, and his World’s Hottest Tour was the second.

“I’m grateful for everything I’ve accomplished and everything I’ve experienced. The Latin music movement has grown so much,” Bad Bunny said. “I would never take full credit or say, ‘It’s because of me.’ No, it’s every one of us. A whole generation. Our energy and presence are always felt.”    

Zayn Writes to the UK Prime Minister Rishi Sunak About Free School Meals to Children in Need in a Heartfelt Open Letter

Zayn Malik has called on the government to “give all children living in poverty a free school meal” in an open letter to United Kingdom Prime Minister Rishi Sunak. The ‘Vibez’ singer, who recently became an ambassador for the Food Foundation, shared his letter to the PM on Instagram. Malik has urged Sunak to commit their November budget to expanding free school meals to every child living in poverty in England.

“800,000 children in England miss out on a Free School Meal even though they are living in poverty,” the singer wrote in his letter.

Malik writes: “These children are suffering from lack of concentration, some even resorting to stealing food from school canteens because they are so hungry but can’t afford to buy lunch. They are also feeling shame, which is directly impacting their physical and mental health.” 

“I know what that shame feels like, I have seen it first-hand, as growing up in Bradford I relied on free school meals. I personally experienced the stigma surrounding food insecurity,” the singer shared.

Zayn hopes that “we can all ensure that no child ever has to experience this hunger and stigma again” as his “experience is not unique.”

“No child should have to suffer the trauma and stigma of hunger & poverty. We want every child to grow up healthy to lead productive lives,” Zayn Malik wrote on Instagram. “I am calling on @10DowningStreet to expand #FreeSchoolMeals to every child in poverty in England.”

Sam Smith Unveils Tracklist for Forthcoming Album ‘Gloria’, Features Ed Sheeran, Koffee and Jessie Reyez

Sam Smith has revealed more details about their upcoming fourth studio album ‘Gloria’, set to be released on January 27, 2023. The ‘Dancing With A Stranger’ took to social media to share the LP’s tracklist. Featuring Ed Sheeran, Jamaican reggae artist Koffee and Canadian R&B singer Jessie Reyez, the thirteen-track album will also include Sam’s latest No. 1 hit single ‘Unholy’ with Kim Petras.

Find the full tracklist of ‘Gloria’ below – 

1. Love Me More
2. No God
3. Hurting Interlude
4. Lose You
5. Perfect feat. Jessie Reyez
6. Unholy feat. Kim Petras
7. How to Cry
8. Six Shots
9. Gimme feat. Koffee & Jessie Reyez
10. Dorothy’s Interlude
11. I’m Not Here To Make Friends
12. Gloria
13. Who We Love feat. Ed Sheeran

Christina Aguilera Is Getting Her Own Documentary

Pop superstar Christina Aguilera has partnered with TIME Studios and Jay Z’s Roc Nation for a documentary. Helmed by Ting Poo (‘Val’), the film will recount her rise to stardom and the intimate details of her personal life. 

“Christina has been such an enduring talent and inimitable entertainer throughout the years. Hers is truly one of the great voices of our time, and this is the perfect moment for her story to be told,” said a representative of TIME Studios. Roc Nation’s ’s EVP of TV and Film stated, “Christina is a true icon, a beacon of never-ending authenticity. As a young artist, she broke rules and blazed paths for future voices. We’re proud to work with Christina and TIME Studios, bringing to life such an intimate project.”

The documentary promises to delve deep into the undisclosed aspects of her life with never-before-seen footage and exclusive behind-closed-door moments. 

New music and video out last week –

Kim Petras – If Jesus Was A Rockstar
You May Also Like:

Post Malone to Headline Feeding India Concert in December

10 Upcoming Music Biopics to Watch

Lollapalooza India Unveils Inaugural Edition Lineup

Spread the word