O Daapun Leaves a Lasting Impression With Debut Album, ‘HIT – Hang In There’

Assembled in 2020 and hailing from Guwahati, Assam, four-piece experimental pop/rock act O Daapun’s debut album underscores themes of self-confidence, resilience, and nostalgia.

“The title ‘Hang In There’ suggests that despite challenges or difficulties, one should persevere and maintain hope,” shares the band.

Since releasing singles ‘Urabatori,’ ‘Pronoy’ (performed in Assamese), and ‘Don’t You Drop,’ O Daapun has carved a niche for themselves in the Indian music scene among fans and music enthusiasts, even achieving the title of “Most Promising Artist” at the MG Music Awards in 2022. Now the four-piece outfit adds a steadfast pillar to their blossoming career, with their new record ‘HIT – Hang In There,’ propelling their development as storytellers, creators, and musicians.

O Daapun invites you to a memorable journey of music and storytelling with eleven tracks that traverse pop-pock, synth-pop, R&B, and flashes of folk melodies. In the works since 2022, the band’s previous releases, ‘Prove You,’ ‘Dreamers, Believers, Fighters, Survivors,’ ‘Moving On,’ ‘Oh Gloria,’ ‘Can’t Go Falling Again’ and ‘Skye’ – which has garnered over 100K views on YouTube and 21K plays on Spotify – also feature on the debut record.

O Daapun – ‘Moving On’

The quartet magically lays out the inventory of music to come with an instrumental piece ‘Origin,’ complete with shakers and dreamy/wistful sonics that ship you off to a state of tranquility and serene bliss. ‘Hang In There As You Have Nowhere To Fall’ commences as a somber presentation, graced with crooning vocals and neatly placed acoustic guitar chords, all building up to a nostalgic rock ballad laced with an electric guitar riff and strong vocal harmonies to close.

‘Lost In Times’ sweeps you away with its delicious blend of electronica, serving up a lively dance beat that sees Assam-born and Goa-based singer Sampriti lending her voice to the funky melody. Plucky guitars, passionate vocals, dazzling key segments, and rhythmic drum action shroud the album’s closing multi-lingual single ‘Moving On,’ a piece about self-acceptance and the journey of letting go and pushing ahead.

By adding ‘Origin,’ ‘Interim’ and ‘CODA’ to the track listing, the band has impressively readied listeners of the music in store, with each tune providing an amuse-bouche to the songs that follow. This was rather strategic, as the band shared via a press release, “As O Daapun, we have always enjoyed experimenting with various kinds of music while maintaining our own sonic representation. Each song in the album flows into the next, providing listeners with a seamless listening experience.”

O Daapun – ‘Skye’

Dipping into the artwork, the pop-rockers said, “The album art is a visual metaphor for perseverance or self-reflection. The man holding a bouquet symbolizes hope or a positive outlook, while the mirror represents self-reflection or self-assessment. The relatability between the album art and the title lies in the idea of holding onto hope and self-reflection during tough times.”

O Daapun sees founding members and sibling duo Siddhartha Hazarika on vocals and Bhargav Hazarika on guitars and backing vocals, joined by Suprativ Rabha on bass and Mitul Boro on drums.

Album Credits:
Record Label: No Binary Records
Produced and mixed by: Bhargav Hazarika at Restring Studios.
Vocalist, Lyricist, and Composer: Siddhartha Hazarika.
Collaborating Artist: ‘Sampriti Dastidar’ (On ‘Lost In Times’)

Find O Daapun on: Instagram | Spotify | YouTube | Apple Music

All images are courtesy of O Daapun

You May Also Like:

Trance Effect Address the Intricacies of Love and Loss on ‘Overrated’

CONTRA Rocks Hard on Debut Single ‘Rain’

Tejas Presents An Intricate New EP, ‘Museum’

Spread the word