TF Picks: Fresh Music Releases You Can’t Miss (#12)

With so much new music coming out everyday, we thought we’d help you pick up a few fresh music releases from the last week that you shouldn’t miss. We have compiled a list of music from various styles, genre no bar. Keep watching this space for your weekly dose of fresh music!

Serpents of Pakhangba – The Silence of Day (ft. Phuningding Katharpo & Tamara Kazziha) [Single]

A unique release by avant-garde band Serpents of Pakhangba, again, breaking convention, ‘The Silence of Day’, featuring Phuningding Katharpo (vocals) and Tamara Kazziha (violins and strings), feels like a film-score with shades of a song reprising until it kicks in dramatically towards the end. Post-futurist filmmaker Niranjan Raghu explores the cosmic horror of living in a neo-capitalist world though surreal, symbolic cinema. The combination seems like a great match, with the eccentric musical creativity of Serpents of Pakhangba providing the perfect sonic background to an approaching ominous dystopia. Literally a super-group of 4 multi-instrumentalists, vocalist Tanushree Saha sets the tone with haunting chants and then modulates her way into sounding like ‘Gollum’ of the ‘The Lord Of The Rings’ franchise and straight up growling, through some menacing music from band members Vishal J. Singh, Manas Chowdhary and Fidel Dely Murillo, combining violin and strings, didgeridoo, chug-heavy guitar riffing, and a robotic narration guiding the listener.

Trivium – In The Court Of The Dragon [Album]

About 16 months after the release of their 2020 album ‘What The Dead Men Say’, American heavy metal powerhouse Trivium release a smashing follow up – ‘In The Court OF The Dragon’. All throughout, the album has pounding drums, harmonised guitar melodies, anthemic choruses and recallable instrument sections done just right. The band has set a new standard for themselves with the sound and song-writing on this album, finding a sweet spot between melody and intensity. Notable songs are ‘A Crisis Of Revelation’, ‘Feast of Fire’, ‘Like A Sword Over Damocles’, ‘In The Court Of The Dragon’ and ‘The Phalanx’, although we do recommend listening to the entire album in the prescribed order.

Medddler – Upsurge [Album]

Medddler is the post-rock / post-metal moniker (or as he calls it – the alter-ego) of guitarist, composer and producer Angad Bhatia, who is 1/3rd of the 3 guitar attack of Mumbai progressive metal band Festacorn. This instrumental album is a perfect contemplative soundtrack, imagining a distant era that flourished with art and adventure which is gradually decaying, according to Medddler’s presentation of concept. It seems to symbolically relate to the world right now, transforming, as we look on. ‘Upsurge’ is change, augmentation and revolution, according to Bhatia.

Clifr x Tintin – Restless (ft. bebhumika) [Single]

Bangalore-based producer-rapper duo Clifr x Tintin combine forces with multi-genre singer-songwriter bebhumika (Bhumika Raman) to release the single ‘Restless’ through Export Quality Records. What can be described as a modern R&B meets hip-hop sound overall, Clifr, who also plays in jazz-fusion band Kelvikkuri and Tintin, who is now working on a full-length album with the former producer, ‘Restless’ truly comes to life with the featuring bebhumika’s verse, to add to the beautiful backing vocals she’s delivered throughout the song. There’s a wee bit of auto-tune, in keeping with the new wave of modern trap influenced hip-hop sound and production elements.

Kylie Minogue and Years & Years – A Second To Midnight [Single]

The timeless pop-star who is redefining the term “ageing gracefully”, bringing in the retro-pop thunder from down under, Kylie Minogue releases ‘A Second To Midnight’ along with Years & Years (Olly Alexander). Guaranteed to get your foot tapping or at least your head bobbing, Kylie graces the music video with the style and glamour, which, by now is probably a resting part of her demeanour. The song will appear on Kylie’s upcoming 15th studio album ‘DISCO (Guest List Edition)’, slated for release on November 12th, 2021. This will be a 2 CD album in it’s basic form, having the 12-track album ‘DISCO’ from 2020 on the 1st CD and new collaborations with Jessie Ware and Gloria Gaynor (yes, the ‘I Will Survive’ singer) and remixes of songs as well, such as Dua Lipa’s version of ‘Real Groove’ and more. There’ll also be a 3 CD + DVD + Blu Ray edition and a triple gatefold vinyl edition as well.

Above & Beyond – Homecoming (LTJ Bukem Remix) [Single]

Is this the real life? Is this just fantasy? A second LTJ Bukem tune in 2021 that too in just under two months is pure fantasy. For his first tune of the year, the legendary producer tossed our heads with a delicious Liquid Drum & Bass roller ‘Flip The Narrative’. His second tune is a remix for celebrated electronic music group Above & Beyond. With ‘Homecoming’ Bukem has taken the calming aura of the original and turned it into a steppy Liquid number.

Funky French League – Love Me Like U Do (Young Pulse Rework) [Single]

Coming from different backgrounds but brought together by their unified love for groovy sounds, Young Pulse, Dabeull, Arthur Chaps, Woody Braun, Mr Willy, DJ Asko and Uncle T form the Funky French League and they are on a mission to take their brand of dance-floor driven Soul & Funk music to the world. Our pick from the 3rd edition of their Disco Weaponz series is Young Pulse’s sensational percussion heavy rework of ‘Love Me Like U Do’

Moktar – Drip [Single]

Egyptian-Australian based producer Moktar is the perfect example of how to blend cultures with contemporary electronic music. His latest offering on Mall Grab’s Steel City Dance Discs brings his penchant for Leftfield, Techno and IDM together on ‘Drip’ which is a warm and moody tune that celebrates his Arabic heritage and culture after having spent years facing stereotyping and racism in Australia.

TAPPA – The Motive [Single]

A new-comer to one of the leading tastemakers of deep and dark Dubstep, Canadian producer TAPPA’s debut release on Duploc is a package of crunchy basslines fused with epic orchestrated sounds, and wonky synths blended with irresistible bass pulse. Don’t sleep on TAPPA because the Candaian has only just begun.

Moresounds – Forward [Single]

When you listen to Parisian producer Moresounds’ music, you will find yourself in the middle of a vast musical puzzle that you wouldn’t want to get out of. A protégé of King Tubby’s dubby lands, the Frenchman’s music is a wild mix of rave and dance music tangled seamlessly with pinches of Hip-Hop. Returning to Astrophonica, a label that considers him one of their beloved creators, Moresounds has released ‘Forward’, a spaced-out deep stepper that journeys into the stripped back sounds of 170 BPM music.

We’ll be back next week with more interesting recommendations for you to listen to and/or groove to!

Spread the word