TF Picks: Fresh Music Releases You Can’t Miss (#22)

With so much new music coming out every day, we thought we’d help you pick up a few fresh music releases from the last week that you shouldn’t miss. We have compiled a list of music from various styles, genre no bar. Keep watching this space for your weekly dose of fresh music!

Bloc Party – Traps [Single]

English rock band Bloc Party released their first single in 5 years – ‘Traps’, the first one from their upcoming album ‘Alpha Games’, which is slated to release on April 29, 2022. The band return to their roots with an indie-reminiscent sound from their early days in 2004-05, typically with vocalist Kele Okereke pioneering style of vocals, which has been a defining factor of the band’s sound over the years.

Corner Café Chronicles – D.I.Y. GENERATION [Single]

Alternative / experimental band from Mumbai, Corner Café Chronicles dropped a new single ‘D.I.Y. GENERATION’, putting into perspective the political environment the country finds itself in. Going off-path from their ‘sound’ so to speak, the band opts to rail in their punk rock side and that makes ‘D.I.Y. GENERATION’ a power-packed, rebellious and thought-provoking song. The purpose of the song, according to the band, is to aid people in their journey of thinking, question their surroundings and find their identity amidst everything. This single is the second one off of their upcoming album ‘Renaissance II’, a follow-up to July 2020’s ‘Renaissance’.

Sanjeev T & RANJ – Underdog [Single]

After suffering a massive heart attack and beating death in early December ’21, brilliant guitar player and music producer Sanjeev T released a single ‘Underdog’, written and performed by RANJ, the fifth single from his upcoming album ‘Future’. The song underlines how he has always been the underdog in a music industry that lives on trends, and how he has always chosen to shy away from them, maintaining his unique stance and musicality all the way through. The song features the prolific singer and ex-bandmate (from Rainbow Bridge) Benny Dayal playing bass and is mastered by Grammy winning engineer Deepak PA.

Mary J. Blige – Good Morning Gorgeous [Single]

The timeless voice of American R&B, Mary J. Blige dropped the title track of her upcoming album that is slated to release on February 11, 2022 – ‘Good Morning Gorgeous’. The soulful, string-led song is based on the singer daily affirmation to herself – “good morning, gorgeous” – which helps her overcome the struggles of self-doubt, encouraging and stressing that self-love is as important as any other love in one’s life. Some of the lyrics question why she hated herself, why she wanted to be another person when she could have been gentle and careful. She celebrates that she has earned the right to say to herself “I feel amazing”, an inspiration to all those shrouded in self-doubt, needing to be inspired by a soothing voice of truth.

Clifr x Tintin – Hot Summer [Single]

The first song to be revealed from their upcoming collaborative album ‘Meet Me Halfway’, Clifr x Tintin dropped a fresh new single ‘Hot Summer’, with an accompanying music video directed by the very talented Bangalore-based filmmaker Lendrick Kumar. Typically “another day in the life of a gangster” type of song, as Clifr describes it, the emphatic horns kick in that OG vibe, with the visuals aiding that retro 70’s gangster look brandishing (hopefully fake) guns and slinging about Bangalore in an old Premier Padmini car.


Another week with some killer Drum & bass to cover but this release is special. Utkarsh Singh aka UKato is the first Indian to release an EP on RAM Records’ offshoot label, PorgRAM. His 4-track ‘Aether’ EP features 4 cuts of power-packed DNB and our favourite from the EP is the sweltering bubbler called ‘Delhi Shuffler’.


We have been listening to Kasra and Enei coming together make music but never did we imagine that they would make an album together. 2021 has been full of surprises and guess what? they have. ‘Remote Transmissions’ is an 8 track mini-album featuring the low-end goodness of Critical Music’s head honcho Kasra and the ghastly sounds of Russian Drum & Bass don, Enei. Our pick from the album is eerie ripsnorter called ‘Code Words’.


UK-based label Rosebud Recordings feature a wide range of music styles Soul, Blues and Jazz with their signature UK Garage sounds. Label boss Eliza Rose has released three reworks of her tunes and our pick from the ‘Plant Lovers RR004’ is the bouncy summertime UKG remix of Eliza Rose’s Flowers by one of the hottest prospects int eh UKG world, Introspekt.


Dutch Bass Music producer TMSV, who is regarded as one of the kings of sub bass and percussions has released a 4-tracker on legendary Dubstep label, Deep Medi, to close the imprint’s year with a thumping release. ‘Stay Closed’ a sonic rich steppy Dubstep number loaded with TMSV’s trademark bass catches.


Get Physical Music are closing their year with an EP taken from Thandi Draai’s standout Africa Gets Physical Vol. 4 compilation, which is due for release in January 2022. The EP is an authoritative insight into the current African House scene and its heavy hitters. South African virtuoso, Atmos Blaq has cooked up a delicious remix on the EP with a rework of Thandi Draai’s ‘Iris’ which is a chunky House Music roller.

We’ll be back next week with more interesting recommendations for you to listen to and/or groove to!

Spread the word