BLACKPINK Will Be Making Their Comeback This August, Travis Scott’s First Festival Since Astroworld Canceled, and More

From Travis Scott’s first festival since Asroworld getting canceled to Sabrina Carpenter unveiling the tracklist for her new album, here’s this week in pop music.

This week saw an announcement from YG Entertainment that the K-pop superstars BLACKPINK are making a comeback next month, Drake joining the Backstreet Boys for a surprise performance, Lizzo revealing the tracklist of her upcoming studio album ‘Special’, exciting new music, and much more! 

Taehyung, Park Seo Joon, Choi Wooshik, Park Hyungsik & Peakboy Will Star in ‘In The Soop: Friendcation’

The Wooga squad consisting of five members, including BTS’s V, actors Park Seo Joon, Choi Woo Shik, Park Hyung Sik, and singer Peakboy will reunite for a new reality show. The five stars who met on the sets of the show ‘Hwarang’ and have since remained close friends since. They are now set to appear together in a spin-off of HYBE’s variety show program ‘In the SOOP’ called ‘In the SOOP: Friendship Trip’. It will air on JTBC from July 22, 2022, at 9 PM KST and on Disney Plus at 11 PM KST on the same day. New episodes will air every Friday.

Lizzo Unveils the Tracklist for Her New Album ‘Special’ Out Next Friday, July 15

American singer and rapper Lizzo has unveiled the tracklist of her upcoming studio album ‘Special’, which will be released on July 15. The artist revealed in an Instagram post that the album will have 12 tracks. This album comes after Lizzo’s third studio album ‘Cuz I Love You (Deluxe)’, which won Best Urban Contemporary Album. Her hit song ‘Truth Hurts’ bagged the Best Pop Solo Performance, and ‘Jerome’ won Best Traditional R&B Performance at the 2020 Grammy Awards. So far, the singer has released two songs from ‘Special’ titled ‘Grrrls’ and the lead single ‘About Damn Time’.

Here is the full list of the songs on ‘Special’ -The Sign

1) About Damn Time
2) Grrrls
3) 2 Be Loved
4) I Love You Bitch
5) Special
6) Break Up Twice
7) Everybody’s Gay
8) Naked
9) Birthday Girl
10) If You Love Me
11) Coldplay

FLO Drops EP Titled ‘The Lead’

The British girl group FLO released its first single from the EP ‘Immature’ this week. The three-person girl group from London comprising of Renée Downer, Jorja Douglas, and Stella Quaresma have been a bit of viral sensation, particularly for their track ‘Cardboard Box’ produced and co-written by UK hitmaker MNEK. Their EP titled ‘The Lead’ features five tracks – ‘Cardboard Box’, ‘Immature’, ‘Another Guy’, ‘Feature Me’, and ‘Summertime’.

“‘Immature’ is about being strong and confident in yourself and we really don’t have time for someone being immature,” FLO said in a statement according to NYLON. The band told Dazed in May to expect “girl power, sultry, feel-good songs that make you want to dance, have fun with your friends, get dressed up, and be that independent boss babe.”

“It’s important that everyone, especially young black women, have someone they can relate to and someone they see themselves in,” the group continued. “The experiences we all go through are so universal, and no one should feel alone in that.”

Sabrina Carpenter Unveils the Tracklist for Her New Album

Sabrina Carpenter revealed all of the songs featured on her new album ‘emails i can’t send’, releasing on July 15. The upcoming album will feature 13 tracks. The previously released ‘Skinny Dipping’, ‘Fast Times’, and the most recent ‘Vicious’ will be a part of the album.

The 23-year-old singer and actress took to social media to share the tracks of her upcoming album, find them below –

1) emails i can’t send
2) Vicious
3) Read your Mind
4) Tornado Warnings
5) because i liked a boy
6) Already Over
7) how many things
8) bet u wanna
9) Nonsense
10) Fast Times
11) skinny dipping
12) Bad for Business
13) decode.

The ‘Almost Love’ singer previously opened up about how this album will be “very honest”. She shared that it “feels like the first one where I am myself.”

Blackpink Will Be Making Their Comeback This August, Plot  ‘Largest World Tour’ by K-Pop Girl Group

YG Entertainment has announced that the K-pop superstars BLACKPINK are in the final stages of recording a new album. This highly anticipated record, which is their second full-length album, will be released next month. It “starts a continuous large-scale project which will extend through the second half of the year,” according to the announcement, reported Variety.

The company stated, “A lot of Blackpink-esque music has been prepared over a long period of time. On top of new music and large-scale projects, Blackpink will also go on the largest world tour in the history of a K-pop girl group by the end of the year to expand their rapport with fans worldwide.”

The group’s first full-length album came in October 2020, which reached number 2 on the Billboard 200. It featured the hits ‘How You Like That’ and ‘Ice Cream’, their collaboration with Selena Gomez.

Day N Vegas, Travis Scott’s First Festival Since Astroworld, Canceled Due to ‘Logistics, Timing and Production Issues’

Travis Scott was scheduled to feature at Day N Vegas, his first festival appearance since the Astroworld disaster. The Day N Vegas festival scheduled to take place at the Las Vegas Festival Grounds on Labor Day weekend, Friday, September 2 through Sunday, September 4, has been canceled, organizers announced.

“We’re sorry to announce that a combination of logistics, timing and production issues have forced us to cancel Day N Vegas for 2022,” read the announcement on the festival’s socials.

SZA and J. Cole were set to headline the festival. Artists who were going to perform at Day N Vegas included Playboi Carti, 21 Savage, Baby Keem, Summer Walker, H.E.R., Jhene Aiko, Trippie Redd, Jorja Smith, and Pusha T, among others.

Drake Joins the Backstreet Boys for Surprise Performance of ‘I Want It That Way’

Drake took to the stage with the Backstreet Boys during the band’s concert stop at the Budweiser Stage in Toronto. Just as the group was closing their set, the quintet welcomed Drake on stage as the crowd launched into rapturous applause. Drake went on to explain what the band’s 1999 hit ‘I Want It That Way’ meant to him as a 13-year-old kid. 

“At my bar mitzvah, for the first time in my life, this girl I was in love with came up to me while one of the greatest songs in the world was playing, and she asked me if I would dance with her,” the rapper told the sea of Toronto fans before the band could perform the song. “It was the first time I ever felt acknowledged and it was the first time I ever felt like I had a shot at being cool.”

New Music Out Today –

The 1975 – Part Of The Band

DNCE – Got Me Good

Burna Boy – Love, Damini

Ciara – JUMP feat. Coast Contra

Murda Beatz – NO MÁS feat. Quavo, J. Balvin, Anitta, and Pharrell

aespa – Girls

Brent Faiyaz – WASTELAND

You May Also Like:
BIE Release A Single With Ustad Zakir Hussain
Songs That Got Popular Because of TV Shows
Delta Heavy Returns to Auckland for Tour
Spread the word