Iranian Artists Create an Electronic Music Compilation in Support of Women’s Rights Movement in Iran

AIDA and Nesa Azadikhah, Iranian DJs/producers and co-founders of newly formed Apranik Records, are releasing their first album on the label. Titled ‘Woman, Life, Freedom’ (or ‘Zan, Zendegi, Azadi’), the Various Artists compilation is created ‘in solidarity with the women-led revolution that is currently taking place in Iran’ and features 12 Iranian women artists. The album will be out on January 20, 2022.

The 12-track album is crafted by SarrSew, KUCHULU, MENTRIX, Roody, ROW92, Sharona Lico, Golbon Moltaji, Meshcut, XEEN, and Kimia Koochakzadeh-Yazdi, and also includes Apranik founders AIDA and Nesa Azadikhah. A statement shared by the creators on Bandcamp reads, “This collection, consisting of original music by all Iranian women artists, is dedicated to the recent uprising of people, especially the women in Iran who have endured silencing, censorship, and forced control over the past four decades.”
You May Also Like: Femicides – a Global Issue for Women

The recent custodial death of Mahsa Amini, a 22-year-old woman who was apprehended for wearing “inappropriate attire” by Iran’s morality police, sparked nationwide and international anti-government protests against restrictions faced by women under the current regime. Iranian women have been prohibited from “singing, dancing, or performing” for over 44 years. “Facing threats to the safety of themselves and their families, to their career and reputation, female artists are forced to quit, leave Iran, or to go underground facing grave risks,” read Apranik’s statement. “Despite this, Iranian women have remained active and at the forefront of their art, pushing boundaries from Iran and different corners of the world.”

‘Woman, Life, Freedom’ is a result of this revolutionary uprising. Through this compilation, the creators aim to build and work towards a safe and nurturing environment within the arts for women and children, ‘especially electronic music.’ Apranik is a collaborative project formed in 2022 between AIDA (Iranian-born, Canadian-raised DJ and producer) and Nesa Azadikhah (Tehran-based DJ/music producer and founder of Deep House Tehran) to amplify Iranian artists.

‘Woman, Life, Freedom’ VA compilation

Check out the full tracklist below – 
1) SarrSew – Wronka
2) KUCHULU – Raven
3) MENTRIX – Be Mahsa Be Nika
4) Roody – Nazanid o
5) AIDA – None of Your Business
6) ROW92 – Tensionless
7) Sharona Lico – Freedom
8) Golbon Moltaji – Sepahbod Xorshid
9) Meshcut – Dream in A Dream
10) XEEN – Urn
11) Nesa Azadikhah – Sarnevesht
12) Kimia Koochakzadeh-Yazdi – Emanation

Purchase ‘Woman, Life, Freedom’ on Bandcamp HERE

Find Apranik Records on Instagram HERE

Artists featuring on ‘Woman, Life, Freedom’: AIDA | Nesa Azadikhah | SarrSew | KUCHULU | MENTRIX | Roody | ROW92 | Sharona Lico | Meshcut | XEEN | Kimia Koochakzadeh-Yazdi

You May Also Like:
Record Labels for LGBTQ+ Artists
5 Experimental Women Making Dark and Heavy Music
Nia Archives Leads the Charge on the Jungle Movement
Spread the word