Abhi Tambe Rolls Out Debut Solo EP, ‘Portal Waiting’

Bengaluru-based musician and audio technologist Abhi Tambe has released his debut EP ‘Portal Waiting,’ set in a fantastical futuristic world sealed with intricate sonic motifs.

Film composer and sound designer Abhijeet Tambe aka Abhi Tambe threads together ‘Portal Waiting,’ a stellar multi-genre outing imagined through an interplanetary doorway in a fantastical future reality that reverberates with the one we inhabit. The singer-songwriter charts the protagonist’s journey, confronting him with issues of identity, technology, and freedom. The record contains six tracks and also includes Tambe’s previous song releases, ‘All Board’ and ‘Adoria.’

‘Portal Waiting’ opens with Tambe’s September 2023 release ‘Adoria,’ an upbeat, bossa-influenced number, followed by ‘Moonward’ – a slamming hard-rock tune throwing back to Tambe’s days as the vocalist/guitarist of alternative/post-rock band Lounge Piranha. ‘All Aboard’ is a high-octane rabid rock single that comes in next, with ‘The Invisible Hand’ serving as the EP’s toned-down piano-riddled dapper jazz offering.

‘All Aboard’ – Abhi Tambe

Abhi’s ‘Just For A Day’ strides in with elegant yet melancholic work on the keys. The EP closes with the title track, ‘Portal Waiting,’ a slow jam pop single laced together by Tambe’s crooning voice, steady drum action, and gentle vocal harmonies. The artist discussed the EP via social media, noting it was written during the initial lockdown during the pandemic in 2020 and draws inspiration from Aldous Huxley’s 1932 dystopian science fiction novel ‘Brave New World.’

The musician continued by saying, “I remember I was asking myself big questions about ‘what it meant to be human?’ and ‘whether we had a purpose?’ Exential questions, you know, ‘What is this modern age we are living in?’ I have always used my art as a way of dealing with whatever I am going through and so the songs of Portal Waiting started to come tumbling out – the story of a befuddled protagonist who is unabashedly overwhelmed by whatever he is going through as he deals with these questions.”

EP Credits:
Composer – Abhi Tambe
Drums – Joe Panicker
Bass – Kaushik Kumar
Piano – Aman Mahajan
Vocals – Niyati Upadhya, Samhita Nagaraj
Recording – Samuel Amulraj
Mixing and mastering – Toby Joseph
Artwork – Sheena Deviah

Find Abhi Tambe’ on: Spotify | Apple Music

Check out more new releases from Indian artists –

You May Also Like:

Rono Tunes In New Single, ‘All Afternoon’

Arrows Serves New Acoustic Offering, ‘Southern Belle’

Perp and Avyay Release New Dreamy Pop Single, ‘Bottom of the Sea’

Spread the word